Can I Stop Pinching Myself Now?

Cubs National League Champions Wrigley FieldI’ve been thinking all day about what to write about the Chicago Cubs winning the National League Championship and heading to the World Series for the first time in 71 years, 108 years after they last won the Fall Classic. I’ve seen some pretty good prose, and some utter garbage, so I think I’ll just share some random, sort of slightly but not necessarily connected items for your reading pleasure.

  • I predicted the Cubs would beat the Los Angeles Dodgers in the NLCS in six games. That’s exactly what happened. See my previous post for video evidence.
  • I’ve gotten over 50 Facebook messages, texts, emails, and calls congratulating ME on the Cubs victory. Now let’s be honest here, other than suffering for over 50 years and watching my heroes blow it time and again, both in person and on TV, I didn’t have a heck of a lot to do with the team’s domination so far this season. Sadly, I didn’t even get up to the Friendly Confines Of Wrigley Field to see a game this year. But if my friends and foes think I had something to do with the victory, who am I to not bask in the glory?
  • Cubs World Series shirtYes, I’ve already bought my Cubs World Series shirt from the Official Supplier of Mark’s Cubs Gear, SportsWorldChicago.com. I don’t get anything for mentioning them, I just love their store across from Wrigley Field and they’ve never done me wrong. I was on their website before Joe Buck left the broadcast booth dropping my cash and paying for Aroldis Chapman speed shipping so I’d have the shirt before Tuesday’s game. And being the pragmatist, I bought the generic “we’re in the World Series” shirt so I don’t have to drop another 40 bucks for a World Series Champion shirt, unless of course I’m really giddy when the Cubs DO win.
  • Old Style Beer is not available at any retail location in St. Louis. That, my friends, is a crime.
  • I actually made a meme about the Cubs getting into the World Series and the Election From Hell all rolled up into one. It features the candidates and New York Cardinal (as in Catholic, not baseball player) Timothy Dolan, who is from St. Louis and has been known to like the baseball Cardinals, yucking it up. I posted it right after the game,  but it didn’t gain traction. Just in case you want to share it with your friends and neighbors, here it is again.

Hillary Clinton, Donald Trump, Timothy Cardinal Dolan discuss the Cubs

  • I’ve written before about the Cubs Postseason Ticket Lottery, where you could enter your name for the chance to buy tickets to playoff games. I didn’t get picked for the first two rounds, and it’s Sunday night and I haven’t heard that the Ricketts Family wants my money, so I guess I’m out of luck. I did just check StubHub for the price of a ticket to Friday’s game 3, and Standing Room tickets start at $2,220 with really good seats (2nd row over the Cubs dugout) for a mere $395,000. As they say on CNBC, I expect some contraction in the prices between now and Friday. Regardless, I’m probably not going to see my boys in person, although I am contemplating a trip to Chicago for the weekend so I can feel the atmosphere in Wrigleyville or at Harry Caray’s, my favorite “Cubs Bar” beyond walking distance from the Friendly Confines.

The Cubs Are In The World Series

  • And finally, my prediction for the outcome of the World Series. I’m going with Grant DePorter, the CEO of the Harry Caray’s Restaurant Group (again, I get NOTHING for dropping his name, although a good seat near a TV might be nice) who has a very plausible theory that everything involved with the Cubs good fortune this year somehow ties back to the Magic Number 108. So if that’s the case, the 108th postseason game in Chicago Cubs franchise history will be World Series Game 5, Saturday, October 29 at Wrigley Field. So, despite how hard this would be to accomplish, I predict the outcome of the 2016 World Series to be Cubs in 5. I believe in the magic of the number 108.

I had a conversation with someone yesterday about the Cubs, and he talked about how despondent I’d be if the Cubs lost the World Series. But that isn’t the case at all. The Cubs have given us an amazing seasonLetter W made out of Cubs players' names thanks to manager Joe Maddon and players including Kris Bryant, Javier Baez, Anthony Rizzo, Jake Arrieta, David Ross, and so many others. They won the National League Pennant and are on their way to the World Series. Sure, I want them to win, but I believe every game, every moment of baseball the Cubs play from this point on is a bonus and a blessing, and just seeing them in the Series is enough to make me happy. I really mean that, and I’ll be overjoyed that we had the season we had no matter what the outcome. The Cleveland Indians will be tough, but this year’s Cubs may really be the Team Of Destiny, and could be World Series Champions about a week from now.

Oh yeah, and if you have any spare tickets for any of the games in Chicago, please give me a shout.

One thought on “Can I Stop Pinching Myself Now?

Leave a Reply

