Giddyup! Cubs Spring Training Tickets Go On Sale Today!

I know, deep in my heart of hearts, that I shouldn’t be so excited about this.  I know the Cubs will be on a massive rebuilding campaign after last year’s, uh, disappointing season.  I know there will be a bunch of guys in Mesa with three numbers on their backs.  Yet I’m strangely excited by the fact that Spring Training tickets for the 2012 season go on sale today.

Keep in mind that I’ve never been to Cubs Spring Training, despite either resolving to go or actually trying to go for the better of two decades.  Something always seems to get in the way, like my job or having kids or something like that.   But there is something magical about Spring Training, when you get a chance to see your heroes up close and personal in a very different environment that Wrigley Field.

I’ve been to other Spring Training games before, but not those of my heroes.  It was a great experience, the kind of thing that really stays with you because the players and staff are more like regular people than “stars” when they’re in the Cactus League or Grapefruit Leagus.  The whole vibe is more relaxed and much more comfortable than when the MLB rules kick in for the regular season.  And it will be extra comfortable this year as Carlos Zambrano won’t be there.

So I’m resolving again to try to make it to Mesa this year.  In a perfect world, I’d be there as the new Cubs Director Of Marketing, a job that I have applied for and probably am more uniquely talented to do than anyone else in the application pool.  (Theo Epstein, are you reading this?) But even if the Cubs don’t see the huge benefits of hiring me for their Front Office staff, I’d love to be sitting in the stands watching baseball in March, knowing that the scores really don’t matter but that seeing the beginnings of a new season is a reward in itself.

By the way, YOU can help convince the Cubs to hire me as Director Of  Marketing. Join this Facebook Group and make YOUR voice heard!  https://www.facebook.com/groups/MarkEdwards/

Related articles


One thought on “Giddyup! Cubs Spring Training Tickets Go On Sale Today!

Leave a comment